Home Page



Welcome to our Governors' section


The role of the school governor is demanding but very rewarding and is a good way to give back to your local community.  School governing bodies are responsible for working with the school to ensure that it delivers a good quality education. Together with the headteacher, who is responsible for day-to-day management, they set the school's aims and policies.


Key roles of governors:

  • To ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • To hold the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • To oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent 


They also carry out a number of other important duties, which include:

  • Determining how the school's budget is spent
  • The appointing and dismissing of staff
  • Hearing appeals and grievances
  • Forming policy on the school's curriculum and collective worship
  • Setting standards for pupils' behaviour and discipline
  • Making sure school buildings are welcoming and safe
  • Setting and monitoring the school's aims and policies  


Who can be a school governor? 

You don't have to have children at the school to be a governor. However, you do have to be over 18 and pass a formal check for your suitability to be within a school.  


What's really important is that you have the skills, time and commitment to help drive school improvement and the passion and ambition to achieve the best possible education for children and young people.


Tredegar Park Primary School's Governing Body




Jenny Thomas


Chair of Governors: 


Trevor Watkins


Vice Chair of Governors: 


Hilary Leadbeater


Local Authority Governors:


Trevor Watkins, Allan Screen, Catharine Jones and Derek Ross       


Community Governors: 


James Rees, Hilary Leadbeater and Brigette Smith 


Parent Governors: 


Chris Jarvis


Teacher Governors: 


Louise Nichols and Gemma Pitt


Staff Governor: 


Natalie Davies


Non-Voting Governor: 


Emma Morgan-Boyett